Main Menu

Additional Links
MLB Network

Minor League Baseball

Baseball America

International League
Buffalo Bisons
Charlotte Knights
Columbus Clippers
Durham Bulls
Gwinnett Stripers
Indianapolis Indians
Lehigh Valley IronPigs
Louisville Bats
Norfolk Tides
Pawtucket Red Sox
Rochester Red Wings
Scranton/Wilkes-Barre RailRiders
Syracuse Mets
Toledo Mud Hens

Pacific Coast League
Albuquerque Isotopes
El Paso Chihuahuas
Fresno Grizzlies
Iowa Cubs
Las Vegas Avitors
Memphis Redbirds
Nashville Sounds
Oklahoma City RedHawks
Omaha Royals
Reno Aces
Round Rock Express
Sacramento River Cats
San Antonio Missions
Salt Lake Bees
Tacoma Rainiers
Wichita Wind Surge
 Pacific Coast League Timeline  
Notable Events in
Pacific Coast League History
1903 The first PCL season begins with each team scheduled for over 200 games. Inaugural members include: Los Angeles, Oakland, Portland, Sacramento, San Francisco & Seattle.
1904 The Pacific Coast League becomes an official member of Minor League Baseball (the National Association).
1906 The city of San Francisco is destroyed by an earthquake and fire, forcing the PCL to suspend operations in the city.
1912 August 8 - Los Angeles' Heinie Heitmuller dies of typhoid fever while leading the PCL with a .347 bating average.
1916 Oakland pitcher Jimmy Claxton becomes the first black player in organized baseball history. Claxton, who had been believed to be Native American, was released after two appearances once his race was discovered
1920 Five San Francisco players are banned from organized baseball after conspiring to "throw" games.
1930 June 10 - Sacramento plays the PCL's first night game.
1933 July 25 - Joe DiMaggio hits in his 61st consecutive game, setting the PCL record (he would later set the Major League record with hits in 56 straight games in 1941).
1934 The L.A. Angels finish the season with 137 wins, the most victories ever in organized baseball.
1936 The PCL institutes a four-team playoff system after several seasons in a two-team format.
1938 Bob Cobb purchases the Mission club to move the team to Hollywood. Future part owners of the club included movie stars George Burns, Gene Autry, Gary Cooper, Bing Crosby, Grace Allen and Barbara Stanwyck.
1941 The first PCL All-Star Game is held with the South Team defeating the North squad, 3-1.
1949 The Hollywood Stars become the first professional baseball team to wear batting helmets.
1950 San Francisco owner Paul Fagan bans peanuts from the Seals' ballpark, citing the expense in cleaning up the empty husks. The ban is lifted after 24 hours after pressure from fans and fellow PCL executives.
1956 The Pacific Coast League adds its first international club as the Oakland club is replaced by Vancouver.
1958 Los Angeles and San Francisco are elevated to Major League Baseball and are replaced in the PCL by Spokane and Phoenix. Territorial rules force Hollywood out of the loop as well and the team moves to Salt Lake City.
1960 The Phoenix clubs moves to Tacoma, making the Rainiers the longest tenured current PCL member.
1969 Major League Baseball expands to Seattle and San Diego, ending their run in the PCL. Tucson and Eugene join the League as replacements.
1974 In a span of 14 days, two PCL games see opponents combined for 14 HR in each contest, setting a PCL single game record.
1981 Mike Marshall (Albuquerque) wins the League's Triple-Crown with a .373 average, 34 HR, and 137 RBI.
1981 The Ogden franchise moves to Edmonton.
1982 Edmonton's Ron Kittle sets modern day (short schedule) PCL records with 50 HR and 144 RBI.
1983 Las Vegas replaces Spokane on the PCL's roster of clubs.
1988 The Hawaii Islanders club moves to the mainland, ending up in Colorado Springs.
1989 August 16 - Vancouver's Tom Drees pitches his third no-hit game of the season.
1994 Salt Lake (City) returns to the PCL, replacing Portland.
1998 The Pacific Coast League grows to 16 teams with the addition of former American Association clubs Iowa, Nashville, New Orleans, Oklahoma (City), and Omaha and an expansion team in Memphis. The Phoenix territory is elevated to the Major Leagues and is replaced by Fresno.
1998 Las Vegas Triple-A World Series began. The event, matching the Champions of the IL and the PCL, was held from 1998-2000.
2000 The defending PCL champion Vancouver Canadians move to Sacramento.
2001 Triple-A Baseball returns to Portland as the Beavers replace Albuquerque.
2001 July 7 - Tacoma's John Halama throws the first 9-inning no-hitter in PCL history, a 6-0 win over Calgary.
2001 Sacramento sets a PCL attendance record by drawing 901,214 fans. The per-game attendance (12,517) also sets a PCL record
2003 Albuquerque returns to the PCL, replacing Calgary.
2003 The PCL sets an all-time attendance record of 7.08 million fans, becoming the first Minor League to top the 7 million mark.
2005 The Edmonton franchise moves to Round Rock, Texas, switching their affiliation to the Houston Astros. New Orleans becomes affiliated with the new Washington Nationals.
2005 The New Orleans Zephyrs are forced to cancel their final three home games due to Hurricane Katrina. The Zephyrs came back strong by setting a new Opening Day attendance record in 2006.
2006 The Tucson Sidewinders defeat IL Champion Toledo 5-2 in the first Bricktown Showdown Triple-A Championship Game.